

MINUTES

Town of New Palestine BZA

Wednesday, September 18, 2024 6:00 PM - Town Hall 42 East Main Street

The BZA of the Town of New Palestine was called to order on Wednesday, September 18, 2024, at 6:00 PM, in the Town Hall, with the following members present:

PRESENT: Kathy Hall, Eric Kropp, Katie McCarty, and David Reed

ABSENT: Rawn Walley

1. CALL TO ORDER

Pledge of Allegiance

2. MINUTES

2.1. Approve Minutes from Meeting April 03, 2024

Kathy Hall moved, seconded by Katie McCarty, Motion carried.

RESULT: Carried
MOVER: Kathy Hall
SECONDER: Katie McCarty

AYES: Kathy Hall, Eric Kropp, Katie McCarty, and David Reed

ABSENT: Rawn Walley

3. OLD BUSINESS

4. NEW BUSINESS

4.1. Special Exemption Petition - Property located at 121 E. Main Street

Sylvia Miller, attorney for KK Party Co., provided information on the special exception being requested. Maximum amount of people will be 60, but if the Fire Marshal says less, they will honor it. Brittany and Matt Shoufler have been running this business (KK Party Co) as a mobile business for the last 2 years. They want to have a space to have small events with an 8:00 p.m. cutoff time weekend, and a cutoff time of 9:00 p.m. for corporate events during the week. She discussed parking, and said all events will be held inside the building. They will use this building for small events like children's parties, bridal

showers, adult birthdays, baby showers, graduation parties, corporate events etc.

David Reed stated that the fire marshal will determine capacity, and parking was discussed. He informed everyone about the obligation of the BZA and educated the audience on it.

Eric Kropp recused himself because he is friends with the Shouflers, and his daughter works for them.

The floor was opened to the public.

Ashley Marks 6062 W Richmond Dr - She said the expectations for their parties are very clear.

Hart Summeier - 4090 N 300 E - He said they are very business savvy and ask many questions. He spoke of her passion for the business. He said what they have done with this building is beautiful.

Stacia Clark - 6099 W Richman Ln - She used them for an event with her daughter, and she spoke of their preparedness in legalities and safety.

Debra Carnes - 135 E Main -She emphasized that this is an exception, not the variance and it goes with the applicant, and not the building, she has no objection and fully supports it.

Tamey Adams - 124 E Main - She talked about having a place for corporate events. She has used them before and spoke about their professionalism, and she supports it.

Dawn Miller - She spoke about looking for a space being great for young people to come into a safe location to enjoy.

Steve Rainey - 127 E Main St - requested BZA not to approve. He presented a petition against it due to safety issues. He also discussed parking spaces.

Mike Evans - 131 E Main St - applauded them for their business doing well. He thinks parking will be a problem with customers of The Pub.

Donna Hamm - 120 E Main - She loves the small town, but she doesn't feel this will be a safe location due to cars not following directions properly and jumping the curb.

Penny Hildebrandt - She is the owner of The Pub, and thinks the parking can be worked out.

David Reed - Spoke about the condition for capacity. He spoke about the role

of the BZA, and how the application followed protocol.

Attorney Nolting said it can be voted on and commitments can be solidified with conditions the BZA would like to see.

David Reed moved, seconded by Katie McCarty, to approve subject to conditions changing the closing time to 9:00 p.m., and the capacity commensurate to what the fire marshal requires carried with 3 ayes.

RESULT: Carried

MOVER: David Reed

SECONDER: Katie McCarty

AYES: Kathy Hall, Katie McCarty, and David Reed

ABSTAINED: Eric Kropp **ABSENT:** Rawn Walley

5. ADJOURN

Kathy Hall moved, seconded by David Reed, Motion to adjourn

RESULT: Carried
MOVER: Kathy Hall
SECONDER: David Reed

AYES: Kathy Hall, Eric Kropp, Katie McCarty, and David Reed

ABSENT: Rawn Walley

David Reed - President
Eric Kropp - Vice President
Katie McCarty - Secretary
Rawn Walley
Kathy Hall